Setting Yourself Up For Success

1

September 14, 2016 by lgsiller

Ok, Day 5 of the 10 Day Blog Challenge!  What is my success plan?  Well, it’s a work in progress, but I can tell how I managed to finally to do the last draft of my novel and get it published.  Even though it was something I definitely wanted to do, love to do – it would still hit this wall and be paralyzed, so I came up with JUST DO IT FOR 10 MINUTES.  I’d set a stopwatch and work on whatever page I happened to be on and what do you know I’d get into a zone and then end up working for a couple of hours or more.  Natalie Sisson talks about this in terms of the Pomodoro Method which is to work for 25 minutes and then take a 5 minute break, then another 25 minutes and so on.  Whatever works, but there is something about the timer thing.  For me, 10 minutes was good – I figure you can do anything for 10 minutes.  I think I need to try that with exercise now.  But this kind of targeted time period also allows you to cut off any extraneous distractions, like looking at your phone or deciding you need to do laundry.  It all still be there in 10 minutes, but you can accomplish a lot in the meantime.

http://suitcaseentrepreneur.com/10-day-blog-challenge/10dbc-day-5

One thought on “Setting Yourself Up For Success

  1. shirleyredwine says:

    I like the 10 minute timer. This is news I can use.

Leave a Reply

