Great Expectations

1

August 30, 2016 by lgsiller

I launched my book and we exceeded our goal of getting 100 downloads.  We actually got 144 to be exact and I’m thrilled.  Now that my book is in the hands of the public, I do feel a bit like a new mother – you think your child is adorable, but you would like everyone else to think so too.  I remember when I first work-shopped my novel, how it felt to get encouraging words, have people like my characters and dialogue.  That was the first moment where you really start to believe that you don’t absolutely suck as a writer.  Not that you can totally focus on what other people think, but of course it is nice to have people like what you write.  Ultimately, though, the work must stand on its own.

I also knew the exact moment when I needed to STOP work-shopping my novel; it was becoming a detriment:  too many voices causing me to over think things, doubt myself and descend into the bowels of RE-WRITE HELL.   That’s why when I made my last pass through my novel before publishing it, I found myself putting things back they way they were before people made suggestions.  Workshops were invaluable to my progress as a novelist, but at some point you do have to listen to that still small storyteller inside and I had to get back to core of my story, the story that I wanted to tell in the first place.

So I hope people like my book, but if I’ve learned anything, it’s that we just have to do the footwork and leave the results up to God.  It is journey and it’s still all about writing and daring to put words on paper.  Like sending a child off to their first day of school, you must let them go and make a place for themselves in the world.

One thought on “Great Expectations

  1. shirleyredwine says:

    Right. I think Fulton can make his way in the world on his own now. What a guy.

Leave a Reply

